Why did i go to university?

I had many reasons why I started university later In life and I’m glad i did. In no shape or form would I have been ready to go off to uni at 18. I wasn’t emotionally ready and would of probably found it too stressful and quit. Starting academic life at 30 hasn’t been easy, the daunting first day of walking into a huge building full of bright 18 year olds (or so I convinced myself they were all 18) was the scariest part of my life and I was certain I would fail and not make it past my first year. ID NEVER WRITTEN AN ESSAY IN MY LIFE!

Career change to fit my changing family

As I explained in my ‘welcome to my blog’ post my working life has been spend working in early years. I didn’t want it to be this way but being a young parent I needed a career to fit in with being a mum. Many parents go through the heartache of trying to do their best and balancing work with kids and childcare. The stress of arranging who will be home for your child at the end on the day is one that can really drag you down. Fortunately for me I’ve been lucky enough to have a great childminder, but when my third child came along I couldn’t afford this childcare any more so I gave up work to be a childminder from home.

When the now 5 year old started school I didn’t need to do this anymore so I wanted to go back to work, however my passion wasn’t in early years anymore. I wanted to help people who struggled with their weight like me, I wanted to work with food and advise people on healthier lifestyles.

Better future for my children

Ive always been a great believer in strong female leads and I’m motivated by powerful women. Having two girls myself i thought it was important to set a good example and show them that women can achieve good things in life if they work hard. I didn’t have great grades at school and although I had childcare qualifications I felt I could push myself and get a degree. when I applied for university I never thought id get in, although I never admitted it at the time. I worked hard and pushed the barriers and I did, i have a passion for nutrition and this showed.

Its not all fun and games

Many nights I’ve sat up until 3am to finish an assignment then had to get up and do the school run thats just how it goes. Watching the other students going clubbing and having a good time whilst your doing the washing and making packed lunches is also a bummer, and they don’t always get why you can’t go with them or why you have to work in the library when they are all chilling out, then in the school holidays ask ‘how come you’ve finished this essay?’ (because I knew the holidays were coming up and all il be doing is playing at the park and watching youtube). They also don’t get why you feel a bit miffed when they are moaning they are ‘too busy’ to get work done 🙂 but do you know what? its totally worth it. sure its hard but with a routine and determination you can do it. Showing my teenager my good grades and how I achieved them with hard work motivates him to try harder too. My girls also now know that just because they are girls theres nothing they can’t do to achieve their goals too.

Leave a Reply

