My slimming world progress

 

I dont suppose il ever stop having ‘that look’ when I tell people I’m a nutritionist and I go to slimming world. I guarantee that in most cases the first question I get asked is; ‘if you know what to eat to not get fat why do you go to slimming world?’

The truth is I do know what to eat and what not to eat. iI know exactly what happens to that huge bar of galaxy I demolished in 10 minutes when it gets to each stage in its quest to be turned Into energy and fat. Does it stop me eating it though? No because it tastes good and I can not help myself. This is nothing to do with me being a nutritionist its to do with will power, self control ad greed.

I quickly realised that I needed support, that helping hand to guide me through the weight loss journey. When i walked through the door of slimming world back in January the fact id been here before and it went wrong still haunted me. That was before I started my degree though and this time I knew my waist circumference could cause diabetes and that my love of burgers could increase my chances of heart disease. This time is different because its not all about fitting into that bikini it was about me living a long and full life.

I stepped on the scales and when the numbers read 15.13 i felt like crying. Id left slimming world 2 years ago and put on almost 3 stone. It was the heaviest id ever been and I still haven’t shared that weight with anyone until now in this blog. Ashamed and scared I knew I had to lose this weight. I set an initial goal of 11 stone which would put me just in the healthy weight BMI category.

Im now 15 weeks in and I’ve lost 1 stone 9.5lbs. I post most of my meals on Instagram so I can keep track (follow me slimming_mum_student_bum) I don’t lose big amounts every week, thats just not me but every time I even think about bad food i think about diabetes, heart disease, cancer and not being able to dress how I want. i STICK TO PLAN AND IVE LOST ALMOST EVERY WEEK!! Im not saying its easy but as a parent and a woman who’s trying so hard to set out on a new career path i need to do this. I also think its a bit bad to advise people how to make healthy food choices and live an active lifestyle when I’m going home to eat pizza. Ive always struggled with my weight and that puts me in a better position to help others.

This is a full breakdown of what I have lost each week

  • wk 1 – 2.5lbs off
  • wk2 – 3lbs off
  • wk3 – 2lbs off*
  • wk 4 – 1lb off
  • wk 5 – 1.5lbs off
  • wk6 – 3.5lbs off
  • wk 7 – 1.5lbs off
  • wk 8 – 1.lbs off*
  • wk 9 – 0.5lbs off
  • wk 10 – 4lbs off
  • wk 11 – maintained/stayed same
  • wk 12 – 1.5lbs off*
  • wk 13 – 2lbs off
  • wk 15 –  0.5 off

* indicates time of the month, however there seems to be no pattern in me. Some women lose less weight but mine is pretty random.

Id say slimming world has taught me that even though I know scientifically an individual doesn’t need a lot of food, I was wrong to think I was different and I did. I now only eat when I’m hungry and only eat the amount I need to to feel full. If you want to see more of what kids of meals I eat I will be posting some more recipes on here. You can also search for me on Instagram as suggested above (slimming_mum_student_bum)  where I post most of my meals.

Its a hard journey and if you go to slimming world post some tips and comments in the comments section. If you don’t but are thinking about it you can post any questions here too.

Stay healthy xxx

 

Leave a Reply

